Tiny Talk Tuesday

Tiny Talk Tuesday and a Plea for Laughter

tt_winter_logo

I have so much fun with this carnival that Mary hosts at Not Before 7.  Max (6) is such a funny boy, he’s always cracking me up.

picture-013

These are some of the things he has said to me recently:

1.  He pronounced Wisconsin as “Unconscious”

“Is Unconscious in the United States?”

2.  When you answer his request with the phrase “in a little while” he will run to set the microwave timer for “a little while.”

A little while, according to his expertise, is exactly 9 minutes, 00 seconds.

3.  Max has one thousand fifty-five girlfriends.  Some are cartoons.

4.  One of those real girlfriends is Grace, who he is going to marry.  He told me that he is saving up for a diamond ring.

Max: “How much does a diamond ring cost?”

Me:  “Oh, at least $5,000” (sidenote: I found out Grace has much more expensive taste than I thought)

Max:  “Well, I’m going to buy her a ring from the grocery store.  It only costs a dollar.”

What are your kids (or nieces, nephews, neighbors, gnomes) saying this week?  Do tell and keep me laughing…please!  I’ve hit the 7 week mark with this broken foot and it still is such a pain.  I just survived 4 days of single parenting while Mike was on a youth ski trip and I’m going a little crazy here.

I’ve been in this boot way too long!

blog_boot

But at least it doesn’t take much to make me laugh these days!

(thanks to my friend Deb for the idea to customize my boot with scrapbooking letters)

8 thoughts on “Tiny Talk Tuesday and a Plea for Laughter

  1. Unconscious in America, that’s me lol. Sorry about the foot, I broke just my toe last year and what a pain that was. Can’t imagine the whole foot! Hope you are on the mend soon.

  2. I had a little guy at church who was about 6 when I was a teenager and worked with children all the time. He told me “he loved me”. He bought me a ring from a bubble gum machine once. Fast forward to the fact I married his uncle and now he is my nephew by marriage. Funny how life works. We joke about how we were engaged way before I met “Uncle Andy”.

    Funnies: Preschool gives me thousands.

    Kid at school when I told them I was going to have a baby: “You’re going to get really fat and then have a baby sister, that’s what happened at my house.”

    Kid at school when I wore my hair naturally curly just “crunchy curly”: “Did your momma not fix your hair today?”

    When retelling me the pledge individually: “to the flag of the United PLATES of America”

    The list goes on, I leave you with those today. 🙂 I love my job!!

  3. LOVE the boot! What a great idea!

    That is a GREAT shot of your son – he looks so grown up though…sigh…

    He cracks me up with the diamond ring talk – so funny!

    Hope you guys are having a good school year. I am heading to the CHAP conference in PA this year (May) for a little inspiration and a lot of shopping for first grade 🙂

  4. I’ll have to ask J (also 6) how many minutes he thinks “a little while” is. He’s always setting the timer too!

    As for funny talk, well… today was one of those days that I was so frazzled that I probably missed any funny remarks (but caught all the backtalk, sigh). But I’m glad I blog about the really funny ones (that I remember) because I just went back to read them and they made me laugh all over again. Most can be found here: http://nurturingnotes.blogspot.com/search/label/humor

  5. Thanks for the laugh!

    Just the other day, Bubba got off the bus with a giant thing made out of paper. I said, “What IS that?”

    She said, “A Vulture!”

    I was a little skeptical, ’cause it didn’t look at all like a vulture…but what do I know; I’m just the mom.

    Later, we were talking about the vulture, and I realized that I had mis-heard her. She said, “sculpture.” So now we have a sculpture at our house called, “Vulture.”

  6. I had to send my daughter (7) to her room after a a major tantrum (that I caused), She did a project on Rosa Parks at school and told me she wanted to write a letter to Mrs. Parks and invite her to come to her class. Well, being the know-at-all that I am I said “Oh honey, Rosa Parks passed away a few years back”. Well, that’s all it took.
    “MY TEACHER TOLD ME (tears)- ROSA PARKS IS ALIVE!!!” That’s right, I caused my child to cry and toss herself on the floor kicking and screaming over the death of Mrs. Rosa Parks. Who knew?

Leave a Reply

