Adoption (Open)

Again, I’m Talking About Prayer

Back in December I made a phone call to Colorado and spoke with a waiting mom in the adoption pool at our agency.  I had never met her before, but a counselor asked me if I’d be willing to talk and listen and encourage her in the midst of the wait.

We hit it off right away and talked for at least a couple of hours about the ups and downs, the unavoidable expectations, and the heart-wrenching loneliness of the wait.

And for both of us, we shared what it was like to experience the devastating loss of being chosen but not coming home with the baby we thought was God’s choice for us.  I haven’t met many others who know this kind of grief.

I hung up that phone and landed on my knees for this family.  I wanted so much for she and her husband (and two biological children) to be chosen soon.  I was convinced that God had big plans for them, that open adoption was His plan for them. And there was one thing that she shared with me that caused me to pray fervently.

Her daughter, in Costco of all places, stopped her mom in her tracks and told her that she just knew God was going to give them a baby in January.  Um, okay.  Ha ha.

But I thought, God, wouldn’t that be cool?  You just have to do that!  Give them a baby in January, God.

Tonight I got an exciting email from her.  This sweet family has been blessed with a baby boy!!  He was born in October but placed in their home in January.

I know a lot of their friends and family were committed about praying for them.  But I feel very privileged that God allowed me to do so, as well.

Kind of reminds me of all of you who prayed for our adoption.  Thank you!

P.S.  If you’re waiting for an adoption, please email me.  I’d love to know your name so I can pray for you.

9 thoughts on “Again, I’m Talking About Prayer

  1. A friend of mine sent me your blog link this morning and thought it was meant for me. I believe God put your post in my path so that you can pray for our family.

    We have our precious Claire, who is 21 months old, after many years of praying and waiting we finally became a family when she arrived to us at just 10 days old. She has been such a blessing to us and we have a semi-open relationship with her birthfamily. We would have a more open agreement but due to their Japanese culture this is all they are comfortable with at this time.

    We have now begun praying for another situation that has been presented to us. We are content with our daughter but would love for her to have a sibling. Please pray that God will show us His perfect will for our family. He clearly opened all the doors with Claire and gave us perfect peace.

    Thank you for sharing from your heart, God has used this to confirm that we are praying in the right direction at this time.

  2. Why do I always read your post right when I get to work and end up crying my mascara off? You can definitely keep us in your prayers as we try to figure out what God has for us. The waiting is the hardest part!!!! Well ,that and the fact my roommate from college just had her fifth child. We’re only asking for one! From anywhere!

  3. Hey you! I’m just catching up on you since before Christmas! Looks like y’all have been busy and happy. I am so thrilled to see all the pictures of the sweet kiddos and hear about how much fun they’ve been having. So sorry your foot is still bothering you – I hope wearing The Boot will help it heal quickly! Sweet dreams (ow!)

    xoxox.

  4. 2 Cor 1:3-7 “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort those who are in any trouble, with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also abounds through Christ. Now if we are afflicted, it is for your consolation and salvation, which is effective for enduring the same sufferings which we also suffer. Or if we are comforted, it is for your consolation and salvation. And our hope for you is steadfast, because we know that as you are partakers of the sufferings, so also you will partake of the consolation.”

    Blessings Dear Anna! :o)

  5. Hey sweet friend! Pray for a couple (her name is Liz), at our church who just experienced the anticipation of bringing home a baby then ended up empty handed. I have been praying about giving your name to her but have not done so yet…I dont’ know here well but I see her pain in her eyes.

  6. It’s great to see how the kiddos are growing. Can’t wait for you to come visit Becky so I can meet you guys! You can keep Todd & I in your prayers. This is our first month in 3 years that I am off of all infertility meds! We wanna give my body a rest. We’ve decided that if I am not pregnant by summer we will pursue adoption. Thanks for the inspiration (and laughs!). Praying you’re off those crutches soon!

Leave a Reply

