Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Spiritual Growth

Jumbled

Hey.  I’m just poppin’ in to say hello and tell you that I, at this very moment in time, am feeling stress in every fiber of my being.

My shoulders are tense, thoughts inside my head are spinning, and my legs are crossed at the ankles tighter than the pair of jeans I put on this morning.

Everything with the family is good.  We’re all good.  This is about me and how it’s my turn to teach the Junior High lesson on Wednesday night.  I teach about 4 or 5 times a year and it tends to go down like this a couple days before the talk.

God always works it out – as I prepare and stress nothing makes sense.  But when He takes over on Wednesday night it’s okay.  It’s always okay.

I’ve been wrestling a lot with this one, though.  It’s on Acts 17 when Paul talks to the Athenians (who have been “doing nothing but talking about and listening to the latest ideas” and reaches them (okay, not all of them but some of them) for Christ.

What a good message for teens right now living in this culture.  Two weeks before Election Day when we’re “doing nothing but talking and listening to the latest ideas”…thinking that political change is what is going to save us.

Wouldn’t it be so cool if my excitement and built-up stress over this topic would somehow move from the jumbled state in which it is occupied in my brain to words typed on paper and spoken in clear sentences that would make it somewhat easier for 7th and 8th graders to understand?  And for them to not look at me like I’m some kind of freak in her 30’s who doesn’t know the first names of each Jonas Brother?

Wouldn’t that be SO cool?

So here I sit.  It’s after midnight and I have 40 something hours to contemplate and pray and unjumble (dejumble?) and type out something that God wants me to say.  All while doing other things with my day and night.  What am I supposed to be doing again?  Oh yes, being a good mom and not taking my stress out on my 6 year old.

Like I did tonight.  I didn’t go totally insane, but I did do that crazy mom thing where I ranted through a forced smile and a close-call aneurysm about how I can never get anything done around here, all the while starting a million and one projects only to be interrupted and derailed into answering another “why” question or pulled over to read the Sunday comics or asked incessantly to help pull two stuck Lego pieces apart while I’m trying to SWEEP THE FLOOR, honey.

Yes, I had one of those crazy stressful nights tonight.  I asked Max to forgive me and he did without missing a beat before asking his next question about why dogs can’t talk like people do.

But here I am derailing and ranting to you now.  While I should be looking at that passage.

Okay, I’m motivated to return to it just for a few more minutes.  Guess I needed to clear my conscious.  God, forgive me.  I need You so much and I pray that you make something good happen with this jumbled-up mind and soft heart for teens that you gave me.

Jumbled for His glory.  Amen.

6 thoughts on “Jumbled

  1. Hey, I was reading your blog and I’m not sure, but I’m sensing a little stress. As far as the lesson goes, it’s always good to mix in some humor. Might I suggest starting with some funny or embarrassing pictures of Mike? Then, blah, blah, blah, important stuff. And for the big finish, crazy pictures of Dave! I love it, it’s all coming together!
    All kidding aside, you’ll do great. Like always. The teens know you love God, and you love them. That’s why your lessons are so effective. You could be teaching about the importance of wearing deoderant, and they would be in awe. You know what?That’s not a bad idea! Anyway, all that to say, if there’s any chance of showing some embarrassing pictures of Mike and Dave, I’m all for it. If the teens learn something it’s a bonus.
    See ya Wednesday!

  2. I know what you mean…I have story time at Cubbies Wednesday night! I am only joking a little. I am no Debbie or Marti, if you know what I mean. Writing as one who has a teen in that group, I couldn’t be more grateful for you, I’ll be sure to pray God gives you a message you can deliver with confidence, without stress.

  3. I’ll pray for your preparation and your lesson. I commend you for having the courage to teach junior high youth group… Junior high kids might even be more intimidating that my mother-in-law!

  4. Oh Anna! I will pray that God uses you to touch the lives of your students through His message. Don’t feel discouraged–that’s just the devil trying to make you lose your focus! I’m sure it will all come together in the end!

  5. You’ll do awesomely, Anna!
    I always loved the lessons you taught! Don’t worry about whether they’ll like it or not, because I know they will.

    PS- I thought I should add that the Jonas Brothers are Kevin, Joe, and Nick. In case you should ever need to know 🙂

Leave a Reply

