Family · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Harvest Festival

On Sunday we headed over to our favorite orchard for their annual festival and we had a great time.  The weather was warm and sunny that day (it’s been unseasonably warm for October all week – pretty nice!)

Mike humored me with a posed shot with the guy who got stuck in the hay stack.  There weren’t many more of these pictures – he’s no fun.  I just had to go with the candid ones.

Max says “hey dude, keep your eyes on the road”

For the first time, we cheapskates shelled out the $4 for a pony ride for Max.  He wasn’t all that impressed, which is just a wonderful feeling to know it was money well spent.

But this, however:

was SO FUN!

Max, how did you like jumping in the hay (I know, I know…it’s straw)

“kinda boring”

Just kidding, he didn’t really say that.  I just cracked myself up, though.  He has been saying “kinda boring” more and more these days.  I guess being 6 means he’s developing a little chip on his shoulder.

He can’t play the chip-on-the-shoulder thing for very long.

Especially when Daddy was ready to take him down the big slide, which was really fun.

Being a big kid is great – pony rides, flying like Superman off hay stacks, and speeding down a slide on a burlap sack.  Just think, in a few years Mini will be joining her big brother in the adventures.  But until then she’ll be content to stay with me, perfectly still while we watch and observe.

“Whatchutalkin’bout?”

9 thoughts on “Harvest Festival

  1. You had me laughing out loud with the “money well spent” comment. 🙂 Well I’m glad he enjoyed the rest of the activities!! Happy 8 months to Mini!! 🙂

  2. I can’t decide which would be more fun, hay (straw?) jumping or tractor races. Okay, I’ll go with both!

    Great day! Love the pic of Mimi in her carrier against you–she had the right idea.

Leave a Reply

