Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom

Today

Yay! Max will entertain himself for hours playing Legos.

Ugh! Legos are not allowed to be anywhere near the baby.  They are only allowed behind the gate, down the stairs in the play room in the basement.  Restraining orders have to be enforced, meaning I am now the Lego Nazi.

Yay! Max is at a great age to help with Mini.  He is super enthusiastic to assist with all kinds of things – running to get a diaper, distracting Mini during a changing, jumping over gate and zipping through house to get a burp cloth.

Ugh!  Multiple diapers are thrown in my direction, wild singing and dancing takes place with arms flailing next to me as I’m trying to hold down a 7 month-old crawling octopus, basket of burp cloths are dumped all over the floor followed by hysterical laughter as Max walks around the house with the burp cloth over his head.

Most other days I can appreciate his sense of humor.


Yay! I was able to accomplish something housework-related today.  Well, almost.  I cleaned the kitchen and mopped half of the floor.

Ugh!  Max celebrated the occasion by bringing his sleeping bag to the kitchen for an indoor camp-out.  I know he was just having fun, but why can’t a single room be clean and clutter-free for 5 minutes?

Yay! It’s Friday and Mike is home for the next 2 days. Plus Nana is coming over and bringing reinforcements in the form of Chick-fil-A waffle fries.

Ugh! Weekends don’t last long enough.

Have a good one, though!

6 thoughts on “Today

  1. Personally, I’ve just given up on keeping the house clean. My little guy (almost 5) seems to thrive on spreading the “love” of toys EVERYWHERE!!! I can clean a room and before I can move on to another one he’s got toys or “stuff” scattered all over the place again. I’ve tried to keep it all contained to one area (the den, which is supposed to be “his” room), but alas it is hopeless. He wants to be where the people are!
    I say…enjoy the kids while they are little, the house can be cleaned when they get big and are out of the house! Enjoy your weekend…and relax!!

  2. Oh, I know all these emotions! 🙂 Hope your weekend was/ is fantastic, filled with at least moments of sleep and alone time in a clutter-free home. Well, maybe while you are sleeping you can dream of a moment of alone time in a clutter free room. 🙂

  3. Ahh yes that sense of humor often reveals itself when we least are in the mood for it, right?! I have that problem often with my son when he finds things hilarious as he’s “helping” and I’m busy trying to get things done! And I don’t even have a Mini Octupus to worry about! LOL. I hope you got some well needed rest this weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

