Homeschooling · Stories About Jake

Mom of Mystery I Am Not

Last Friday we went on our first official homeschool group Field Trip.  We met in downtown Baltimore at the children’s museum to play on a massive indoor playground, learn how to make our own chewing gum, push interactive buttons, touch knobs of all kinds, and explore tunnels on our hands and knees with multitudes of other children and all their germs and bacteria.

A good time for Max to be on antibiotics, I’d say.

The field trip was super fun and Max’s curiosity was piqued as we went from one room to the next.  When we first arrived, a buddy told him about a section called the Mystery House and right away Max had to find it.  It was mysterious, all right.  Mysterious how I survived the rest of the day answering the MILLION questions Max had about it.

*sigh* Where was Daddy when I needed him?  He would have taken the time to read all of those signs, know all of the Mystery Room’s ins and outs, and would have answered every question in detail.

My lack of response to all of his questions was frustrating to Max.  I tried to come up with a good excuse explain that Mommy was busy taking pictures of him in the Mystery House and I didn’t have time to read all of the blurbs and captions in the who dunnit game.

Yes, yes.  I was taking pictures.

Sidenote:  This drain tunnel thing is the scariest thing I’ve ever crawled through.  You know when you’re so scared that your voice quivers a little?  Well, my voice as well as all my vital organs were quivering “GET OUT NOW!”

Bravery is not my strong suit.

Equilibrium is not, either.

I had to get out of there before I was sick.

But other than that, we had a great time, Max is still talking about it, and he begged us to take him back again.

This time, with Daddy.

5 thoughts on “Mom of Mystery I Am Not

  1. i’m so glad you got to go this time! 🙂 Sounds like fun… so when we come up and go together, it’s “let the Daddies take the boys to the Mystery Room”, right??? 🙂

  2. That’s so neat to have a support system for homeschooling. We were discussing homeschooling in my Children, Law, & Society class and I thought about you! I’m glad that Max had fun in the Mystery room! 🙂

Leave a Reply

