Blogging

Guess Who I Met Today?

I can’t even tell you how excited I was to meet one of my favorite bloggers for the first time in real-life today!  Katie of Roses Are Red, Violets Are…Violet came to Baltimore on business and we met for lunch at the beautiful Inner Harbor.

This was the very first time I’ve ever met a “friend I met on the internet” – when did I ever think I would say that?  Crazy!  But meeting Katie was a must – she is a wonderful writer and as genuine, fun and friendly in person as she is on her blog.  We  had so much to talk about since we are both adoptive moms and our adoption stories have so many similarities.  Plus, I loved her Southern charm and she made me laugh the whole time.

Of course, as soon as I got there I was already laughing.  At myself.  We were supposed to meet at the waterfront hotel where she was planning a corporate event but there was a construction detour that sent me in another direction for parking.  I called to tell her that I went into the Courtyard Marriot parking garage instead and she was going to walk a block over and meet me in the lobby.

Five minutes passed, then 10.  Where was Sincerely Anna?

Brrring.

Anna: “Oh hi, Katie! You’re in the lobby?  I’ll be right there, I’m on the elevator now.  It took me a million years to get two kids out of the car (and set up stroller, change diaper, lose keys, open a CapriSun for Max, go back to close door that was wide open, etc, etc).

Katie: “No problem, I’ll see you in a couple minutes”

Another five minutes passes.

Brrrring.

Anna: “Hello, Katie?  I’m so embarrassed.  I’m not at the Courtyard, I parked at the HIlton’s parking garage and I just saw the sign in the lobby! HAHAHAHAHAHA!”

We were off to a great start!

After finally saying hello and introducing her to Max (who immediately loved her) and Mini (who was a little more shy…see picture below) we hopped on the water taxi to eat lunch at The Cheesecake Factory.

Mini liked the idea of cheesecake and it didn’t take long for her to warm up to Katie.

Max, who was very social as always, wanted to know anything and everything about Miss Katie and her two boys, D. (6) and J. (9 months).  After finally getting a break to ask a question herself, Katie asked Max to tell her something about him.

His response was, “Well, I’m very hilarious.”

We had a great time, oh yes we did!  Thanks, Katie, for a great day!

2 thoughts on “Guess Who I Met Today?

  1. You did a much better recap than me! I completely forgot to mention Max’s comment… he IS hilarious.

    “Um, exCUSE ME, Miss Katie…. can we talk about Daniel now?”

    LOL He is a doll baby!

    What a great time!!!!

Leave a Reply

