Uncategorized

Not My Usual Light Fare

Tomorrow is our last post-placement adoption homestudy appointment.  Our social worker, who has worked with us for over 6 years now, will be coming over at noon and I bet it will be a little emotional for me.  She has played a huge part in both of our adoptions and we’ve really enjoyed working with her.

I went to Hallmark to find a suitable thank-you gift for her and it took me an hour to decide on something.  Good thing Mike wasn’t with me – it would’ve driven him crazy.  Did I mention that we purposely never shop together?  I decided on a photo frame and a Vera Bradley booklet of sticky notes along with a pretty box for some homemade chocolate chip cookies.  I just needed an excuse to eat cookie dough tonight.

While I was out, I picked something up for one of my jr. high girls and drove over to her house.  Her first day at her new school is tomorrow and she was really nervous about it.  Middle school is such a tough time, isn’t it?  Let alone the feeling of being singled out as the new student.  She’s been on my mind all week long and I’ll be praying for her tomorrow.

I’ll also be praying for my friend’s daughter-in-law.  She was recently diagnosed with breast cancer and will be having a bilateral mastectomy and reconstructive surgery tomorrow at 11 a.m.  She is only 25 years old.  My heart is heavy for her right now.  I’m going to take the time that I’d usually spend at the computer tomorrow and just pray for her.  Would you please pray, too?*  Can you imagine going through something like this as a newlywed in your 20’s?  They are strong – battling this with great hope – and leaning on Jesus with everything they have.

Well, I know that’s not my usual lighthearted stuff here on the blog, but I wanted to share it with you.  I’ll see you on Tuesday.

*we are praying specifically that the cancer has not spread into the lymph nodes (the MRI was unclear) and, of course, for complete healing.

4 thoughts on “Not My Usual Light Fare

  1. Wow…thank you for reminding me how blessed I am. Unfortunately, I tend to forget sometimes until I see all the pain that others are going through. 😦 I will keep them in my prayers. I hope the homestudy appointment went well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

