Uncategorized

Camera Intervention

Any camera experts in the house?

I fear that my Canon Powershot SD700 IS (which I used to LOVE) is on something. We have witnessed sudden changes in her behavior and I can’t handle it another day. My life is in shambles and it’s taking a toll on the entire family.

(taken indoors at 2:00 p.m.)

(taken outdoors at 2:01 p.m.)

I’ve tried everything I can think of to help her. I’ve googled until my eyes have crossed about the problem. I’ve cleared all the settings, cleaned the lens and sensors, changed her battery, etc. but nothing is working.

What would you do? Would you spend $120-$150 to send her to rehab or would you just buy a new camera? Any recommendations?

9 thoughts on “Camera Intervention

  1. Oh no. I wish I knew more about photography it would make my blogging a lot easier. ๐Ÿ˜‰ My husband would buy a new camera. I would probably get a quote on getting it fixed. Mine is in the shop as we speak.

  2. That’s very strange. I’ve never seen anything quite like it. . .

    Honestly, I would just buy a new one. I love my Canon, and all of the Canons I’ve had in the past. Right now I’m using a Powershot S3 IS and it is divine. Of course I’m always looking to upgrade, but I still love it!! The one I had before was like yours, but an SD500. My husband uses that one now and it’s been dropped several times, but still works like a charm!

    Good luck, and let us know what you decide!

  3. That is strange.
    New camera or not? It depends if you were thinking of upgrading in the near future (like I hope too). In my experience, fixing cameras of any sort tend to be way costly so it might be better to just get a new one. gulp! Have fun spending the money. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Camera technology changes very quickly, and the cost to repair them can easily exceed the cost of a newer, higher resolution, faster one.

    That particular model has been out for at least 2.5 years, and a lot has developed in camera technology. ๐Ÿ™‚

    It’s painful to blow a ton of cash on a new camera, but overall, I’d seriously consider getting a new one.

  5. I have to say that I agree with Tom, mostly because he sounds really smart! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    But rehab is an iffy sort of thing – you could send your dearie there, only to get her back and have her still not work…or worse yet, she could learn some new problems from her “rehab friends,” …or perhaps even worse, they could tell you that you have to cough up more change than you think because the habit is harder to kick than they thought it would be.

    These are tough days, my friend. I’m sorry to hear of your family’s struggles. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I don’t know much about the mechanics of cameras but I do know that cameras aren’t that expensive anymore so I would just recommend getting a new one–especially if it’s going to cost more than $75 to repair!

  7. I completely agree – if it’s really that much, I would just get a new one.

    And remember to go for current value to you, as they don’t seem to be made to last much longer than a couple of years.

  8. How much does an art class cost? You could just draw the pictures. That would be much more entertaining. I’m sure that Max and Mini would still be cute as stick figures. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

