Homeschooling · Just For Fun · Stories about Emmie · Stories About Jake

Berry Cute

It’s that time of year again!

Time to go strawberry picking! How do you like Mini’s outfit? When Faith called me this morning to ask if we’d like to celebrate her kids’ last day of homeschool with a trip to the orchard, the first thing that popped into my mind was this outfit. Max’s birthmom’s mom and aunt bought this for her when she was born. (Not pictured are the shoes and the coordinating bathing suit. I think it’s safe to say she’s a fan of Gymboree, also!)

So, I woke up Mini from her nap to change her clothes (yes ma’am, I most certainly did) and we were off to pick some berries.

The kids were excited to get outside and run around. This is one of the first picking days of the season and the website said “scattered picking” so there wasn’t the usual crowd. We picked great strawberries and disagreed with the scattered part – there were plenty! But it was nice to kinda have the place to ourselves and not worry that the kids were getting in the way of other customers.

Max helped me but mostly, he was just excited to be with his friends out in nature. He loves open spaces. He even ran up to the edge of the patch and said “Mom! Look at this BEAUTIFUL view!”

Of course I had to get my camera and take a picture of him admiring it. Even if it was just a view of Route 27.

We’re more city folk than I thought.

That’s Faith’s daughter, by the way. The one that Max asked her dad for permission to marry last summer and the one that he nicknamed “Princess”. They walked the patch together and I wish I had a picture of that – it was very cute.

Aw, but I did get these.

These two are something else! Here’s a picture of them from a year ago.

And from two years ago,

That’s her twin brother in the middle and he’s a silly boy, too, but nothing compared to his sister! For being the only girl (until Mini came along) she has held her own in the mischief department.

Which really gets to Faith sometimes! It’s so hard not to laugh, but look what this stinker girl did to each and every one of the strawberries she picked?

Can you see that? She took a small bite out every single one! Hahahahahaha! (sorry, Faith)

Faith has four great kids and we always have a good time together. It’s fun to watch Max grow up with them.

We all look well-adjusted for being a bunch of homeschool kids, right?

Okay, before I go, I must show you this picture. Mini was very cooperative today (she’s always pretty flexible and is used to being carted around everywhere in the car seat or sling).

We’re going to enjoy those this weekend! Hope you all have a good one, too!

8 thoughts on “Berry Cute

  1. What a delicious little, I mean Mini-berry! I am SO sad that I didn’t get to meet her in person while we were in your neck of the woods!! I heard from a very reliable source (Michele) that she is just a gorgeous in person as she is in pictures.

  2. awww
    i love the pics of Max and “Princess”
    and the fact that he asked for her dad’s permission to marry her. he’s ultra-cute.
    please show him this comment and tell him there’s a nearly-18 year old in Nepal who’s crazily in love with him
    πŸ˜‰

  3. Oh, my! So many things to say about this post! First, I have been missing the orchard that you went to and their abundance of strawberries! We have a couple great places here, but that place…such sweet memories (pun intended!) Second, could she be any cuter! I just LOVE all the berry stuff and am a bit envious of the all-over cuteness of that outfit! Third, welcome to the world of more than one kiddo – waking one up to go have fun!!! Hahahahaha! πŸ™‚ Love you, friend!

Leave a Reply

