Stories About Jake · Tiny Talk Tuesday

Tiny Talk Tuesday

Two funny things Max said tonight…

Max likes to be involved in the dinner-making process. He’s curious about cooking and measuring and stirring and, for the most part, I’m okay with sharing my space as long as he isn’t grabbing spoons in front of me or putting tortilla chips under the burners for fun.

But what I really love is when he wants to “help” with dinner by making his own little culinary creation in the corner of the kitchen. Happily entertaining himself. This is bliss.

Tonight was one of those nights. I was fixing hamburgers for the grill and he was off to the side making soup. What kind of soup, you ask? Why, it was something you probably have never heard of. Cheesestick soup. As in, mozzarella string cheese cut up in tiny pieces at the bottom of a bowl filled with plain water.

Mmmmm…appetizing.

He made three bowls of it. One for him, one for me, and one for his dad. And he was very excited about being the one who came up with this first course for dinner.

But like a good chef, he was the first to critique his own recipe, as well.

After slurping a spoonful of “broth”, he looked up at us and declared, “the water is good but not very much tasting like cheese sticks”

No? Perhaps next time…

************************

When I was tucking him in tonight he noticed my socks had a brand name written on them and he asked me, “who made your socks?’

“Champion”

“Is that because you’re the best mother in the whole wide world?”

So cute! Happy Mother’s Day to me, huh?! I love that boy!

*************

Tiny Talk Tuesday celebrates our children and their view of the world. They continually make us laugh and by recording their Tiny Talk we can focus on one of the many JOYS of parenting!

If your kiddos made you laugh this week (don’t they always), then feel free to share the humor! Click over to Not Before 7 for more details.

8 thoughts on “Tiny Talk Tuesday

  1. I get so nervous when my son wants to help out in the kitchen but I don’t want to discourage his participation because I want him to be able to cook when he’s older. So I usually let him even though like you said, it’s “my” space.

    Max is adorable! You are one lucky mom!

  2. Cheesestick soup! MMM-mmmm!

    BJ is also very interested in helping out in the kitchen. Yesterday he went through the entire cooking utensil drawer and wanted to know the name of everything and it’s purpose. When he was done, I couldn’t get the drawer shut because he had so lovingly rearranged everything!

  3. Bean makes soup too! In the kitchen sink with the scraps of whatever veggies, etc. I’m cutting up! I love it too except for the water everywhere. 🙂 He is a sweet, sweet boy!

Leave a Reply

