Sincere Thoughts on Being a Mom · Stories About Jake

The Legend Of The Cut That Needed Some Attention

I think Max has a future as a stunt man if he could only stop tripping over his own feet. He’s amazingly coordinated and has no fear but falls down all the time. It’s not unusual to see him walk around the house with his eyes closed, bumping into walls, falling down, laughing, then getting back up to do it again.

Super fun.

But here’s the thing. He really is coordinated. He can ride his bike for miles and it’s a cake walk. He can dart across a balance beam with no problem. He can climb to the top of a big tree and walk on the branches (limbs? I don’t know what the fat ones are called) and it’s no big deal. Yet as soon as his two feet are back on the ground, he falls. Happily. Scraped knees, bruised shins, bumps on the head. It’s all in a day’s play for him.

In December I sat down to write our Christmas letter and joked about Max being our family stunt man. I even mentioned how we were amazed he made it 5 years without a single visit to the ER.

Of course, as fate would have it, we ended up in the ER the very day after I mailed out the Christmas letter. But it wasn’t for a broken bone or stitches like I feared would happen from the day he took his first steps leaps. The December ER visit was for breaking out into hives after painting cookie dough ornaments. So, that doesn’t really count toward a good war story from his childhood. I’m his mother and I know that chicks dig scars, not hives.

Today, on the other hand, counts. We made a visit to the ER for a head wound resulting from a stunt. Or rather, more accurately, a cut that needed attention. Well, to a boy it’s the same thing.

He crashed head-on into the corner of our stairs and I heard that unmistakable I’m-really-hurt cry. Blood was immediately present and covering his hair which, I’ve got to say, kinda freaked me out.

Luckily, after all the blood was wiped away, the wound was nothing more than a little cut but I took him to the ER just to be on the safe side because it was still pretty deep.

I guess I made a good call because it was deep enough that it needed to be closed with two staples.

Could you really allow yourself to look at that? Are you going to be alright?

There will be counselors standing by.

I’ve never seen a doctor use a stapler to someone’s head before. Again, I’ve got to say, I was kinda freaked out (not that I was actually looking) but I was just trying to keep Max distracted from the fact that someone was using a device to put metallic things with pointy edges in his head. After the needle, of course.

But isn’t this one of those cool boy stories? I mean, as his mother, I had to keep the right perspective about the whole thing. This day will be one of those days that he will likely remember from his childhood and tell about to his friends. And even though the story may change into the Legend Of The Head Wound, instead of A Cut That Needed Some Attention, I know a couple of staples can go a long way.

Just don’t show these pictures to his friends.

10 thoughts on “The Legend Of The Cut That Needed Some Attention

  1. I’m not sure what you mean. “Hey, baby. Check out these hives I got making cookie dough Christmas ornaments” works on the babes every time. Oh, by the way, I have a stapler at my house. You could’ve saved a trip to the ER.

  2. I think, if I know Max just the little bit I think I do, it’ll be the Legend of the Gaping Head Gash” and the blood will flow like the might Mississippi out of that thing. 😉 I’m proud of him. I’m sorry for Mama, but every boy needs a gaping head gash story. I’m just glad he’s old enough to remember it!

  3. I love the way you write. I had some great laughs on this one – especially since I see it from the other perspective – as an ER nurse. btw – you know how they take those staples out? yes, a stapler remover. 🙂 Glad he is well (and that you survived the trip too!)

  4. Isn’t it such a boy thing?? My little guy has been to the ER 3 times, and he is not yet 5. I think you did very well to make as long as you did!!!!

    Congrats on your first big scar, Max! (And congrats, Mom, that it is under his hair! 🙂

  5. You know my 4 year old had staples in his head at ages 1, 2, and 3. We’re waiting for the next set.

    Last summer he broke his leg climbing a headboard that had been taken off a bed. Three days later we got a new bottom of the cast because he’d shredded through that. Then (I have a picture of this one) I turned one day to see him stuck upside down in the chain link fence hanging by his cast!

    Family stunt men are hilariously fun… 😉

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

