Stories About Jake

Mars And Venus: The Early Years

A boy decides he is bored. He wants to write a note to a friend. A friend that happens to be a girl. He spends about .2 seconds writing his name on a piece of yellow scrap paper and says he’s done. His mom thinks maybe she should help with the sentiment. She writes “Dear ___, you are my friend”.

The boy stuffs it in an old wrinkled grocery bag to deliver it to her doorstep.

blog_messenger1.jpg

The boy opens the door and runs away to hide, fast and furious.

blog_messenger.jpg

Hours later, the girl writes her own friendship card and brings it to his door. She writes, “Dear Max. You are my best friend, too.”

And draws a pretty picture on it. And folds it cute. And decorates it some more.

blog_loveletter.jpg

Next thing the Martian knows, he’s getting married in a street-side ceremony with witnesses.

(“Don’t worry, Mommy, it was a pretend wedding”, he told me).

Oh Max. You got a thing or two to learn about girls.


12 thoughts on “Mars And Venus: The Early Years

  1. No, how scary! All I have to say is, I remember to this day the name David Mincarini, the first boy I married in kindergarten.

  2. I married Cary Bohn everyday for 2 years to the song Mirror, Mirror by EVie. Mom was the officiating pastor!
    Yes, it is a bit scary!!!!

  3. Ummm..i’m pretty sure his little princess G does NOT live by you. She is going to be heartbroken!! I’m going to have to teach him a thing or two about loyalty this weekend, if I’m right!

  4. This is adorable. Oh what a dear heart! Hold on to him (next thing you know, they’re graduating highschool sniff!)

    I must confess I found you by googling “Mars and Venus” and was delighted to find something a little different than the usual stuff. (I blogged about it today, and include a short video Gray discussing the book. I would love to hear your thoughts/opinions… including reminders that yes, guys can be sweetie pies, too..)

Leave a Reply

