Adoption (Open)

For The Love Of Suzy’s Zoo

 I’ve been a fan of Suzy’s Zoo for a long time – I love the watercolors, the cute smiley characters, and the imagination behind the creations. The cards just make me smile and I kind of like that they are hard to come by in stores. At least here on the east coast, the true Suzy’s Zoo retailers are few and far between.

One time, before the gas-saving invention of the internet, a friend and I drove 50 miles to a store to buy Suzy’s Zoo cards. I’m not kidding even one bit.

While we were in Colorado, I had a chance to spend some quality time with A’s mom one day, just the two of us. I’ve said before how supportive she was for A. during her pregnancy and prayerful about the adoption plan. She is a great mom and so much fun to spend time with.

On our day together, we went out to lunch and stopped by a little children’s clothing store afterwards. We ooh’d and aww’d over the cute things we found for Mini. It was so much fun.

Before lunch, though, we went to the Current Catalog outlet store, where I knew there were going to be Suzy’s Zoo products for sale. Current doesn’t sell the same type of cards as the “true retailers” but I’m still a fan. It had been a very long time since my last Suzy’s Zoo purchase. I was giddy.

Again, I’m not even kidding one bit.

A’s mom and I have a lot in common and got along really well. She didn’t look down on me for my love of Suzy’s Zoo even though I’m not 8 years old, I’m not a teacher, and I’m not a grandma. She doesn’t judge.

She accepts me. Because she understands. See, she collects something too. She likes cute things with cute ladybugs on it. Suzy’s Zoo has a lot of cute ladybugs.

This adoption was meant to be.

So, while were at Current, I made my purchases and she made hers. Then we went to the car and I announced to her that I bought a little something for her without her knowledge. Just a little somethin’.

And she said she did the same thing for me. I handed her a little stack of sticky notes with cute little ladybugs around the border. And she bought me a Suzy’s Zoo memo pad with an Easter bunny and egg on it. CUTE!!

See? This adoption match? Meant to be.

Okay. One more piece of hard evidence. Here is a page right out of our adoption profile book that we prepared years ago, long before we knew A. or her mom.

blog_adoptionbook.jpg

And I know it’s hard to see, but that red sticker at the bottom of the page? It’s a ladybug.

**************

The Suzy’s Zoo bunny memo pad came in handy this Easter. I signed up to bring snack to Cubbies last night and I got a little creative with it. How cute is this?

blog_easterbunnies.jpg

Edited to add: since Katie asked, here’s what’s inside the baskets.  The kids loved ’em!

blog_easterbunnies2.jpg

6 thoughts on “For The Love Of Suzy’s Zoo

  1. My daughter and son’s room were both done in Little Suzy’s Zoo. I spent the whole 7 1/2 months that I was pregnant with my daughter looking for things. Oh it was so cute!

Leave a Reply

