Family · Real Life Humor

Sleep, I Missed You So

This weekend I was pampered at my in-laws’ house. They took care of Max and Mini and I slept 8 hours straight last night! I got up to eat a delicious breakfast of pancakes, eggs, and bacon. A little later I yawned and said I was tired and Nana suggested I take a nap. Really? Okay.

I went to bed and ended up sleeping for three more HOURS. I woke up at 1:15 p.m. just in time for lunch. I’m telling you, I was feelin’ the love.

I pretty much think I have the best in-laws in the world.

We were so excited to see Pops & Nana and Aunt Jen and my first experience traveling alone with the kids (!!) went pretty well. It only took me three hours to get out of the house yesterday morning. Sheesh. I was majorly Disorganized (with a capital D) and almost forgot the essentials like formula and diapers.

But like every other day in life, I had a good laugh during the chaos. I asked Max to pack his own backpack for the trip with, you know, toys and stuff. Well. Do you know what he chose to put in it?

blog_backpack.jpg

That’s right. A loaf of bread. You never know when some extra fiber is going to be necessary.

That boy. He makes me laugh so much!

Anyway – want to see some pictures from this weekend?

blog_nanaandemily.jpg
Nana couldn’t wait to hold her!

Nana was going crazy waiting for us to arrive and even her friends were calling for updates on our progress. I called her at 9:30 and said I’d be leaving soon and then called at 12:30 to tell her we were on our way. We were off like a herd of turtles. Or is it turd of hurtles? Either one.

You can see Max in the background already busy playing with his new Sock Monkey that Nana got for him. He’s come to find out that Big Brother presents are one of the best things about having a baby sister in the family!

blog_auntjenandemily.jpg

Here is Aunt Jen holding Mini for the first time. I think it’s safe to say that it was love at first sight!

blog_popsandemily.jpg

Pops and Mini having a little chat.

Mini, you’re going to love coming here to visit! And when you’re old enough, I’ll get you your own backpack to put anything you want inside for the trip, just like your big brother.

10 thoughts on “Sleep, I Missed You So

  1. Would your in-laws like another daughter in law, a peppy three year old and a bun in the oven? Because 8 hours plus 3 more hours sounds like heaven, and having a meal prepared for me outside of a restaurant would bring me to TEARS, I’m certain of it. Sigh.

    I’m glad you had a fabulous time. Glad glad glad. I bet you feel like a new woman, dontcha!?

    Loving the bread in the backpack. You just never know what another person considers essential until you take a look in that backpack.

  2. Oh how wonderful! I have a lot going on this week and my MIL just called me earlier and told me she’s coming up for the week to help out. Families are great, right?! Glad you enjoyed your stay and your SLEEP!

  3. Anna (and Mike)

    Welcome to MY world!

    I have one word for you with respect to trips with “the kids”

    … CHECKLISTS!!!! ….

    Even *with* a checklist, it has happened more than one that we’ve run a few hours later than the originally scheduled departure time.

    Glad to hear that you got some sleep. It is a welcome and rare thing in this season of parenting.

    🙂

  4. I’m with Megan…Are your in-law’s up for another round of visitors?? Sounds like you had a blast and I’m so happy that you got to get a little bit of sleep in you…that will help this week so much! My mom is coming Tuesday and I’m counting down the minutes until she arrives!

  5. So glad you got a bit of pampering and extra sleep. That’s wonderful!!!

    Love how Max prepared for the trip. You never know when the urge to make a sandwich will strike.

    The pictures of little peanut Mini with her grandparents are sooo sweet!

Leave a Reply

