Adoption (Open)

Visit With Max’s Birthfamily

We arranged to see Max’s birthmom’s mother, younger sister, and aunt and uncle while we were here for Mini’s adoption. There was a chance that we could’ve seen his birth mom, too, but unfortunately the dates of our stay didn’t match up with the time that she’d be in Colorado. We were all pretty disappointed that we couldn’t see her at the same time, but it was still great to visit with her family.

Max seemed excited. He knows that they are his birth family and now that Mini is born and he’s met her birth family, he really understands things much better. I think he totally gets that they are part of his “before-us” family and that they love him very much.

Our visit was about 6 hours long and very fun and comfortable. Max played the entire time while the adults talked.

Hey, I want to tell you something. I mentioned to them that I was thinking about writing a book about our open adoption experiences and they gave me a lot of encouragement to do so. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Visit With Max’s Birthfamily

  1. And you should. I think a frank but heart-filled book about what you’ve been through and what you’ve learned would be absolutely invaluable to other families persuing adoption and trying to make the right decisions for their own families. You have a very very encouraging and enlightening story to tell, and the way you (and only you) would certainly tell it would bring so much glory to God. Ah, just contemplate the possibilities! 🙂

  2. I totally agree. Although our adoption is closed we have gained so much insight from your experience as we know when we add to our family it could very likely be an open adoption. You have been such an encouragement and inspiration to us!

  3. Do it! I’d buy the book. Although we are in the beginning stages of adoption, you’ve opened our eyes to open adoption. Have a safe trip HOME tomorrow.

  4. I love your story. See, there you have it. Do it. And in all your spare time you will have once you get home. 🙂 Two is definitely a whole other story ! 🙂 Oops ! I guess I am suppose to encourage you… smile ! oooh! I wish I still lived in Maryland b/c I must get my hands on that wee girl!!!

Leave a Reply

