Adoption (Open)

Breckenridge Rocks

blog_dudneyfam2.jpg

We’re here in Breckenridge, CO visiting these dear friends and Mini is loving her first vacation in the mountains. Bill and Sarah are long time friends of ours from Maryland so we’ve been having a good time hanging out. They have six children and the two older sons, ages 10 and 12, share a bedroom that is basically a Star Wars Legoland O’ Fun and Max? He thinks Colorado is not only the place where babies come from but also the place where you die and go to heaven.

Everything is going so well. Mini is a such a wonderful baby and she has stolen all of our hearts. She has the cutest little squeaks and funniest little facial expressions. We took her to the pediatrician today for a check-up and I’m proud to report that she has gained a big ol’ 3 oz from her hospital-leaving weight. She’s 6 lbs even and is the very picture of health.

Since we’re at a high altitude we needed to get her oxygen level checked. This whole oxygen checking/possibility of turning blue thing was a little scary to me at first, but all the doctors at the hospital assured us it would be okay to take her to the mountains as long as we got the levels checked. Her hospital pediatrician even joked, “if she’s pink then you can keep climbing, if she’s blue then you need to come down”. Good news – her levels were at 98%, which is super (anything lower than 90ish would be of concern). She’s pink as can be. 🙂

I love it up here. The first couple of days out here in Colorado were a whirlwind of activity and emotion from both the birth and the discharge from the hosptial but being up in the mountains with friends has given us a needed rest. Our plans are to stay here until Monday then go back down to stay at a Residence Inn close to where A. & J. live for a week before we fly back home.

We have to wait until the Interstate Compact (state to state adoption stuff) goes through before we are cleared to leave the state of Colorado. Yeah, it’s sort of a pain to live out of a suitcase (or in my case, several suitcases) and, OH!, we’re anxious to get home, but I think the time with them will be really special.

We have even talked about having some kind of ceremony with A’s youth pastor to express our commitment to Mini and to each other through our open adoption.

I haven’t talked to A. directly since we left the hospital, but I believe everything is going well with the adoption paperwork leading up to Friday’s court hearing. Today I called A. at home to tell her about Mini’s doctors’ appt and her dad answered the phone. He was happy to hear from us and said the counselor happened to be at their house that very moment. A. was in the process of signing all of her relinquishment papers, which I’m sure was not an easy thing to do. Lousy timing on my part to call right then, but maybe in a way it was good. She knows we really do want to stay in touch.

Jumping to another subject, I had a great night’s sleep last night. Mini is waking up every 3-4 hours and last night I was able to put her down after feeding her and changing her diaper for each middle-of-the-night feeding. She fell asleep on her own and I got at least 5 hours total sleep for the night. That’s two more than average for the past 3 nights. Amen and glory hallelujah.

Thank you all again for your comments. I LOVE reading them – they give me such a boost.

 

23 thoughts on “Breckenridge Rocks

  1. i know it’s been said several times, but she is GORGEOUS! thanks for showing more pics! i check your blog about every hour 🙂 we’re still praying and we can’t wait to meet her!

  2. Hooray! So glad to see pictures of your little girl and hear how it is going. We’ll keep praying for a smooth transition home.

  3. *Gurgle*

    Oh, Anna – she is so so sooooooooo adorable and so sweet to let you get 5 hours of sleep, too! I’m thankful you’re there with friends and being able to relax and enjoy these days with extra support around you. I can’t wait for you to get home either, really. I don’t know exactly why – maybe that’s the “story book ending” my heart is sortof on edge for? (Is it okay to express that feeling outloud?) But oh, how much joy lies ahead. I just can’t wait to watch her grow and hear you go on and on and on about how much you love her. Yay!

  4. good morning…typing here w/ 1 hand because i’m holding sweet emmie in my arms. i just wanted to tell you that A. emailed me late last night w/ pics from her camera of the time in the hospital. so that’s very reassuring, wouldn’t you say. thank you for all the prayers…

  5. It is so wonderful to see the pictures and read your blogs…it brings each of us to you in a special way. What a marvelous thing the Internet is…connecting people and sharing lives!!

    Mini is a precious beautiful baby! Thank you Lord for your awesome gift!

  6. The picute of all the kidlets surrounding you and precious peanut Mini is adorable. I am glad you are getting some time to be with friends and get some much needed rest.
    Hooray on 5 hours sleep!

    Those pink bootie clad feet are adorable! She is beautiful!!

  7. Ok, so I think I’ve reach stalker status – I practically live on your blog! It’s a bit ridiculous! I finally found something else to do (ie. take care of the four children that live in my home and are all here today due to a snow day), and what do you know you post pictures!!! I am so excited to see pictures this morning. 🙂

  8. I’m on pins and needles with you about tomorrow’s event. When you hear, please let us know what’s going on.

    In other news, I spoke with my mom and sister about you guys over the last couple of days. They are as thrilled and excited about your journey as Holly and I are. My mom was so excited that *she* insisted on calling my sister to tell her about Mini’s birth.

    We can’t wait to see you guys again and meet her!!

    Tom

  9. SHE IS SO PRETTY!!! I can’t believe I missed this! I’m so thrilled for you and happy. I love the idea of a commitment ceremony – very cool!

    And I wonder if maybe your phone call to A. was actually timed perfectly – maybe for her it was a reminder that her baby was in good hands and even though signing those papers is no light or laughing matter, signing them may have been easier for her to do. It’s like you were there with her as a support.

    Beautiful little feet! Soft, sweet eyes! Congratulations, Mommy! Living out of a suitcase isn’t too bad when you’ve got such a wonderful armful of love…

  10. Beautiful!! We keep coming back to look at her picture. It just makes all of us smile. God is so good!

    Say hi to Max for us, we are really missing him.

  11. oh, I’m so very happy for you guys. she is JUST BEAUTIFUL. Love the little feet…love them. And, what is this about 5 HOURS??? Jacob’s almost 3 months and I don’t get 5 hours! 🙂

    Your post about the birthfather brought me to tears. Oh, how I relate. It’s heartbreaking and touching all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

